Skip to main content

24th Music Gardens Festival: Renewable Music

Polish Composers' Union, together with partners from the Visegrad Group, invites you to the ‘Renewable Music’ concert, which will be held on Saturday 20th July at 3.00 p.m. in the Grand Courtyard of the Royal Castle as part of the Music Gardens Festival. The concert will be preceded by an open rehearsal at 10.00 a.m. Free admission!

‘Renewable Music’ is a project that brings together composers and musicians from the Visegrad Group countries, celebrating the richness of contemporary music in this region and raising issues of ecological responsibility in the music sector. The concert will include Polish premieres of four new compositions commissioned from composers of the young generation, selected in a competition by an international jury. Composers will explore the idea of renewability in music by delving into sound spaces at the intersection of nature and civilization. The innovative use of sound objects combined with the use of extended instrumental techniques will present their commentary on pressing issues of sustainable development.

The works will be performed by Hashtag Ensemble, a Polish group specializing in contemporary music, joined by musicians from the Czech BERG Orchestra, known for their cutting-edge musical projects.

If you wish to see the work in progress and talk to the musicians, composers and project partners, please join us before the concert for an open rehearsal at 10.00 AM!

Máté Balogh – Thoreau Second Hand. In memoriam Alvin Lucier for narrator, wind ensemble and recycled percussion instruments (2024)*
Samuel Hvozdík – Stigma for seven instruments and electronics (2024)*
Katarzyna Krzewińska – green&blue | dreamin’ for ensemble, audio playback and sound installation (2024)*
Ian Mikyska – Forest/Trees for ensemble and playback (2024)*
*first performance in Poland

Hashtag Ensemble & BERG Orchestra
Vincent Kozlovsky – conductor

Project partners: Polish Composers’ Union (PL), Berg Orchestra (CZ), Waves Bratislava / EnsembleSpectrum (SK), The New Hungarian Music Association / UMZE Ensemble (HU).

FB event:
More about the project:

Promo Spot:

Contact for media: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Rynek Starego Miasta 27
00-272 Warsaw, Poland
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

tel: +48 785 370 000

Project support

The website was modernised thanks to the support of the Minister of Education and Science under the Science for Society II program.

Logo Ministerstwa NiSW program Nauka dla społeczeństwa

Our social media

Join Our Newsletter

© All rights reserved. POLMIC
Go to top