Polmic - FB

official patronage

Oskar Kolberg Award For Merit to Folk Culture

40. Nagroda im. Oskara KolbergaProfessor Piotr Gliński, Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland and Deputy Prime Minister, will present the Oskar Kolberg Awards “For Merit to Folk Culture” for the 40th time. The gala will be held on December 11, 2015 in the Royal Castle in Warsaw at 12.00.

The Oskar Kolberg Award For Merit to Folk Culture has been presented since 1974. It has always been the most important Polish distinction for involvement in folk culture, granted in 6 categories – folk visual artists, musicians and dancers; folk tale writers; folk groups (authentic); folk ensembles; scholars and researchers; institutions and organisations (both Polish and foreign). The award is a recognition of these individuals’, ensembles’ and institutions’ long-lasting, consistent efforts aimed at preserving and celebrating traditions and genuine values of regional folk culture in its material, social, and artistic aspects.

This year's edition was organized by the Institute of Music and Dance, Open-Air Museum of Rural Architecture in Radom and Oskar Kolberg Museum in Przysucha. The awards have been funded by the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland, the "Cepelia" Polish Art and Handicraft Foundation, and local authorities of the Mazovia Province.

Polish Radio Programme 2, Folk Artists Association

Media patronage:
TVP Kultura, Polish Radio Programme 2, Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC, MuzykaTradycyjna.pl and Folk24.pl.



Aniela Krupczyńska
Singer and dancer
Małopolskie Province

Zuzanna Ptak

Silesian Province

Maria Siwiec
Singer and dancer, leader of the ensemble "Gołcunecki"
Mazovia Province

Wincenty Staśkiewicz
Folk craftsman

Mazovia Province

Waleria Prochownik
Folk writer and poet
Silesian Province

Jan Kmita Band from Przystałowice Małe

Mazovia Province

Vocal Band "Dorbozianki" from Dorbozy
Lubelskie Province

Jan Jędrola Band "Regle" from Poronin

Małopolskie Province

Prof. Piotr Dahlig
Ethnomusicologist and scholar
University of Warsaw

Anna Urbaczka-Bury
Folk writer and poet, folk theatre director, soloist and leader of the "Istebna" ensemble, dancer

Silesian Province

Łódź Culture Centre
Department of Cultural Heritage and Folklore
Łódzkie Province


Prof. Jan Adamowski – linguist, folk researcher – Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin
Aleksander Błachowski, PhD – ethnographer, art historian – Ethnographic Museum in Toruń, Folk Artists Association
Anna Borucka-Szotkowska – ethnomusicologist – Polish Radio
Prof. Ewa Dahlig- Turek – ethnomusicologist, Polish Academy of Sciences
Benedykt Kafel – ethnographer – Małopolskie Culture Centre "Sokół" in Nowy Sącz, Scientific Council of the Folk Artists Association
Prof. Anna Kwaśniewska – ethnologist – University of Gdańsk
Waldemar Majcher – folk artist – Folk Artists Association (president)
Alicja Mironiuk Nikolska – ethnographer– State Ethnographic Museum in Warsaw
Krystyna Wódz – ethnographer–  "Cepelia" Polish Art and Handicraft Foundation
Dorota Ząbkowska – ethnographer – Ministry of Culture and National Heritage