Polmic - FB

official patronage

The results of the 15th Tadeusz Ochlewski Composers' Competition


On February 27, 2018 the deliberations of the Jury of the 15th Tadeusz Ochlewski Composers' Competition took place. The theme of this year's Competition, organized by the Polish Music Publishing House, was a piece with lyrics for soprano and symphony orchestra.

The rules of the competition stated that the author of the winning composition will receive a cash prize of PLN 10,000 and his work will be released by the Polish Music Publishing House, included in the PWM catalog, and audio recorded along with a public performance.

Jury composed of: prof. Krzysztof Penderecki (chairman), prof. zw. dr hab. Eugeniusz Knapik, Jerzy Kornowicz, Paweł Mykietyn, dr Elżbieta Sikora and dr. Daniel Cichy evaluated all the submitted works and decided not to select the winning composition.

The jury awarded two second prizes ex aequo, each for PLN 4,000: Nad głębiami by Michał Ziółkowski, and Do prostego człowieka by Roman Czura. Third prize in the amount of PLN 2,000 went to the song Nie mów! by Piotr Zalewski.

Due to the Jury's verdict, the rules of the competition regarding the release of the winning composition by the Polish Music Publishing House, its inclusion in the PWM catalog, audio recording and public performance, are not valid.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.