Polmic - FB

official patronage

Katowice | Polish Music Too Little Known


The next concert from the cycle "Polish music too little known" will be held on June 14, 2018 at 7:30 pm in the headquarters of the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra. We will hear quartets by Władysław Żeleński and Krzysztof Penderecki.

Jacek Władysław Żeleński, who studied with Franciszek Mirecki in Krakow, and later with Berthold Damcki in Paris, is considered to be the most eminent composer of chamber music in the second half of the 19th century. In 1880 he composed Quartet in A major, Op. 42 – traditional four-movement work, with scherzo in the second movement. In all of the movements appear phrases that testify the composer's passion for folk music (although without any direct quotes).

The premiere of Krzysztof Penderecki's String Quartet No. 3 took place during a concert honoring the composer's 75th birthday on November 21, 2008 at the National Philharmonic in Warsaw. The composer himself revealed then the less official subtitle of the composition – "Leaves of an Unwritten Diary", because the composition is a sentimental journey in time, a journey to childhood; it is a kind of dialogue between an aged artist and the past.

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.

More information at: http://www.nospr.org.pl