Polmic - FB

official patronage

Katowice | Silesian Quartet: Weinberg in Poland

Wajnberg Mieczyslaw

On 22 June 2019 at 6pm in the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra Concert Hall in Katowice, the Silesian Quartet will perform works of Mieczysław Weinberg and Józef Krogulski.

String Quartet No. 17 Op. 146 (1986), the last work in Mieczysław Weinberg's catalogue, consists of four movements played attacca. Despite some melancholic passages, it has a bright color with references to earlier works. It also has a humorous element. The last movement corresponds with the first one but it's not a synthetic finale: Weinberg had to add a reprise, which he "forgot" to write earlier...

Józef Krogulski was a pianist, composer, conductor and pedagogue (he was Chopin's friend from the composition class of Józef Elsner at the Warsaw School of Music). At the age of 10 he became famous as a prodigy (he was called "Polish Mozart") and he gave a series of concerts in Poland and Germany. His mature work includes mainly vocal eligious music composed in a conservative style. More interesting is his Octet in D minor Op. 6 (1834) for piano, two violins, flute, clarinet, cello and double bass. It represents a brillant style with influence of Johann Nepomuk Hummel's style.

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.

Information on tickets at: http://www.nospr.org.pl/pl/koncerty/1408/kwartet-slaski-wajnberg-w-polsce