Polmic - FB

official patronage

Katowice | Grażyna Bacewicz and America(ns)!


The Silesian String Quartet together with Marek Andryski will perform on 7 March 2020 at 6:00 p.m. at the headquarters of the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra Concert Hall in Katowice as part of the "Grażyna Bacewicz and America(ns)!" concert series.

The programme includes: String Quartet in B minor, Op. 11 by Samuel Barber, Five Tango Sensations for bandoneon and string quartet by Astor Piazzolla and String Quartet No. 4 by Grażyna Bacewicz. It is the best known and most often performed among Grażyna Bacewicz’s seven string quartets. It was written in 1951, following a commission from the Polish Composers’ Union, which invited its members to take part in a composers’ competition for a string quartet organised in Liège, Belgium. Bacewicz’s piece, entered as “1951”, won the first prize.

In one of the interviews, the composer said: "The Quartet consists of three movements; its uses all instruments and the melody features elements of folklore." It could be said that the piece owes its success to that folkloristic note making the work less abstract and more accessible than those quartets which owe its high status only to technical excellence and thoughtful, logical dramaturgy.

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.

More information at: http://www.nospr.org.pl/