Polmic - FB

official patronage

Sinfonia Iuventus online: Mykietyn, Elgar and de Falla

POSIThe Jerzy Semkow  Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra invites you to an online concert broadcast from the New Art Hause – Palace in Radziejowice on 30 January 2021 at 8.00 p.m. The ensemble conducted by Monika Wolińska will perform Paweł Mykietyn's Double Concerto for two flutes and orchestra, Edward Elgar's Sospiri and Manuel de Falla's Suite from the ballet El amor brujo.

A pair of excellent flute players, ranked among the greatest contemporary virtuosos of this instrument, Agata Kielar-Długosz and Łukasz Długosz, will perform Paweł Mykietyn’s Double Concerto, which premiered (in their performance) in 2016. The artists themselves wrote about this work as follows: “It consists of three attacca movements, the first and third of which are based on the composer’s continuous accelerando technique. The innovative approach to the agogic sphere of the work is extremely interesting. The solo parts – in close symbiosis with the orchestra part – are treated very originally. Paweł Mykietyn’s concert will certainly significantly enrich contemporary flute literature. It is wonderful!”

 In one of his radio programmes, composer and publicist Roman Palester expressed the following opinion about De Falla’s fascinating ballet El Amor Brujo: “It is probably the most direct and the most captivating piece he wrote. In the piece, De Falla was able to project the entire «canto jondo», which is the primeval, extremely expressive way of folk singing originating from Andalusia, […] full of sharp and nervous rhythm, with melodics inspired by an eternal tradition and expression reflecting gloomy, magic dancing rituals from the one hand, and fresh Andalusian nights on the other.” Harp is a solo instrument frequently paired with string orchestra, and this is the set of instruments chosen by Edward Elgar, great English Neo-Romanticist, who in 1914 composed its Sospiri (Sighs), a piece he initially wanted to compose for violin and piano as a pendant to the popular Salut d’amour. The piece finally took the form of a subtle orchestral adagio characterised by peaceful and thoughtful mood.

Piotr Maculewicz

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.

The concert will be broadcast on the YouTube channel and on the website https://sinfoniaiuventus.pl/