Polmic - FB

official patronage

Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra online: Dvořák & Grieg

POSIThe concert of the Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra on 6 June 2021 at 8.00 p.m. will be conducted by Jacek Rogala, conductor and composer, Managing and Artistic Director at the Oskar Kolberg Philharmonic in Kielce. We will hear works by Antonín Dvořák and Edvard Grieg. Marcin Zdunik, an artist who is considered one of the most interesting personalities not only of his generation, will perform as a soloist.

Since its premiere, Antonín Dvořák’s emotional Cello Concerto in B minor has been a part of the canon of pieces for this instrument. The piece delights with the melodic beauty of its themes, the depth of expression, excellent orchestration (focusing particularly on wind instruments playing a number of thematic solo parts) and the exemplary balance between the cello and the orchestra. During the concert in June, the piece will be performed by Marcin Zdunik, who is admired not only for his perfect technique and beauty of sound, but also for an extensive scope of his musical interests, continuous crossing of borders in terms of repertoire and bold projects showcasing new possibilities of his instrument.

In the second half of the 19th century, one of the genres that enjoyed great popularity were “symphonic dances”, which often referred to national motifs. It was most probably the great success of Brahms’s “Hungarian Dances” and Dvořák’s “Slavic Dances” that pushed Norwegian maestro Edward Grieg to compose his own similar pieces in the form of a four-part cycle published in 1897 – the composer was inspired by folk music from the collection of Ludvig Mathias Lindeman. 

Piotr Maculewicz

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.

Broadcast on YouTube channel and www.sinfoniaiuventus.pl