Polmic - FB

official patronage

Warsaw | Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra: Premiere of Hanna Kulenty's "Alinea"

POSIThe fundamental mission of the Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra is to promote Polish historical and contemporary music. The ensemble finds great joy and satisfaction in participating in first performances of musical pieces. The concert on 30 October 2021 at 7.00 p.m. at the Witold Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert Studio in Warsaw will be one of those exciting occasions: it will feature the first performance of a piece by Hanna Kulenty, created under the “Composition Commissions” programme implemented by the Institute of Music and Dance.

Hanna Kulenty is one of the most interesting personalities of Polish contemporary music scene. The composer’s extensive and varied output includes compositions for solo instruments, emphasizing their potential to “manifest reality and unreality”, with soloists usually accompanied by a large orchestra. Alinea refers to the concert’s concept, but in this case the genre is merely conventional and fluid, serving the music- and experience-related layer. The piece consists of one part, built on a dialogue between melodic lines of a clarinet and a piano, which are accompanied by a large orchestra. The main pseudotonal theme, clearly heard in the solo parts, is a dialogue between two worlds. The soloist of this extremely attractive premiere will be Roman Widaszek, a charismatic and versatile clarinet virtuoso with an impressive number of concerts and recordings in his portfolio.

Apart from the awaited premiere of the new piece, we will also hear two other attractive compositions: Jean Sibelius' concert suite Pelléas et Mélisande (1894) and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Italian-styled Symphony No. 32 in G Major. The concert will be conducted by George Tchitchinadze – one of the most popular Georgian musicians, who has won great acclaim of audiences and critics due to his impressive musical skills, taste, imagination and, at the same time, the warmth and sensitivity in his interaction with listeners and musicians.

First part of the concert (Mozart, Kulenty) will be broadcast on YouTube channel and www.sinfoniaiuventus.pl

Free entrance tickets will be available until 22 October. The number of seats is limited.

Piotr Maculewicz

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.

Detailed information: www.sinfoniaiuventus.pl 


Please send your applications by 22 October 2021 to the e-mail address This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. along with the number of sits which you are interested in (2 places for 1 application), the name and surname of participants as well as the contact telephone number of all people who want to participate in the event. Everyone will receive the confirmation of granting the entrance ticket / tickets and a Declaration of the event participant which should be completed (the model of the document is attached below), which will be tantamount to the possibility of the participating in the concert. The entrance tickets will be issued on the day of the concert, one hour before the start of the event, at the box office of the Witold Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert Studio, on the basis of the printed confirmation e-mail from Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra and the completed Declaration of the event participant.

During the event the rules determined in the Ordinance of the Council of Ministers related to the establishment of the certain limitations, injunctions and bans due to the conditions of epidemic will be in force as well as their update.

Co-financed by the Ministry of Culture, National Heritage and Sports from the Cultural Promotion Fund under the “Composition Commissions” programme implemented by the Institute of Music and Dance.