Polmic - FB

official patronage

Warsaw | Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra: Moss, Mozart, Skoryk and Bacewicz

POSIMedia patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC

On the 18th of June 2022 at 7.00 p.m. in the Witold Lutosławski Concert Studio of the Polish Radio in Warsaw the Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra conducted by Mirosław Jacek Błaszczyk, the pricelist Concerto malinconico by Piotr Moss for tenor saxophone and orchestra will be performed. The director of the Orchestra, Piotr Baron will be the soloist at the concert. Symphony No. 41 ‘Jupiter’ by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Overture for orchestra by Grażyna Bacewicz and Melody by Myrosław Skoryk will also be presented.

Concerto malinconico for tenor saxophone and orchestra was written by Piotr Moss especially for Piotr Baron and the author himself wrote about the inspiration in this way:

'…I reacted enthusiastically to this proposal. The saxophone has been in the orbit of my compositional interests for many years now, and the list of pieces I have written for this instrument is already very long. The poetic interpretations of Ellington played by Piotr Baron turned my compositional thinking towards a certain melancholy, of which the tenor saxophone plus Piotr Baron are, I think, excellent representatives. Also, by commissioning a saxophone concert from a composer of classical music, Piotr Baron may have wanted to return to his musical roots. And the composer, in turn, was curious to hear how his music would sound as seen through the prism of this great musician’s jazz experience. The piece is in one movement, made up of several distinct episodes punctuated by intermedia, in which there is room for saxophone improvisations'.

Co-financed by the Ministry of Culture, National Heritage and Sports from the Cultural Promotion Fund as part of the ‘Composers’ Commissions’ programme implemented by the National Institute of Music and Dance.

The concert will be broadcast on the YouTube channel and on www.sinfoniaiuventus.pl

Free tickets are available for the concert! Seats are numbered and the number of seats is limited. Please send your applications by the 15th of June, 2022 to the e-mail address This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. along with the number of places (maximum 4 places for 1 application) and the names and surnames of people who want to participate in the event.

After a note of Piotr Maculewicz

More: https://sinfoniaiuventus.pl/