Polmic - FB

from the world

Brazil | Cracow Duo: Kalinowski & Szlezer

FestivaldeMusicaPolonesa 23Jan Kalinowski and Marek Szlezer will be the artists of the 5th Festival of Polish Music in Campinas. The ensemble will also perform in São Paulo, and together with Camerata Florianópolis at the Teatro Ademir Rosa - CIC in Florianópolis between April 26 - May 2, 2023.

On the 26th of April in São Paulo, the three-day Festival of Polish Music will begin, which will take place at the Institute of Arts of the Universidade Estadual de Campinas, one of the most respected universities in Latin America, commonly known as Unicamp.

Compositions by Fryderyk Chopin, Ludomir Różycki, Aleksander Tansman or Krzysztof Penderecki will be performed during the festival. Brazilian audience will also have the opportunity to listen to works by contemporary composers, including Krzesimir Dębski, Marcel Chyrzyński, Krzysztof Meyer, Marta Ptaszyńska or Wojciech Widłak and see that Polish music offers a real wealth of styles and genres. As part of the festival, the premiere of Jarosław Płonka's newest work will also take place.

Ensemble's website: https://www.facebook.com/CracowDuo 

Las Vegas | 'Polish Music on Stage': Polish Violin Duo

PolishViolin 10.12.22 prYoung artists - winners of the 1st and 2nd editions of the International Polish Music Competition - will perform on the 10th of December 10, 2022 at 6:30 p.m. at the West Charleston Library in Las Vegas during their US tournée. It comes as part of the ‘Polish Music on Stage / US edition’ project organized by the National Institute of Music and Dance within the Inspiring Culture programme.

Polish Violin Duo consists of two charismatic musicians - Marta Gidaszewska and Robert Łaguniak, whose stage energy is perfectly intertwined with musical sensitivity. Each concert of the duo is unique, it allows you to discover and savor chamber music for two violins - a cast so rarely presented on stages.

During the upcoming concert, they will present the works of Grażyna Bacewicz, Anna Rocławska-Musiałczyk, Henryk Wieniawski, Mieczysław Wajnberg, Romuald Twardowski and Henryk Wieniawski.

More: https://nimit.pl/wydarzenia/polish-violin-duo-polish-music-on-stage/ 

Washington | „Music from the Heart: A Tribute to Ignacy Jan Paderewski”


The gala concert 'Music from the Heart: A Tribute to Ignacy Jan Paderewski' will take place on the 16th of October 2022 at 19.00 in the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.

Under the direction of Kenneth Slowik, the Smithsonian Chamber Orchestra will perform five iconic works by Polish and American composers. Originally planned as a celebration of the foundation of the Second Republic of Poland at the end of World War I, the concert is organized in cooperation with the Andrzej Markowski Foundation.

The programme will begin with the energetic 1948 Concerto for String Orchestra by Grażyna Bacewicz, Poland’s best-known female composer, followed by Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings, which gained instant fame when Arturo Toscanini led the NBC orchestra in its broadcast premiere. Next up, Mikołaj Gorecki’s hauntingly beautiful Concerto-Notturno will feature the young American violinist Lily Honigberg, concluding the first half of the concert. After the intermission, another young American pianist, Avery Gagliano (the only American semi-finalist of the 18th International Chopin Piano Competition in 2021), will play Ignacy Jan Paderewski’s Romanza. The concert will end with a Suite from Aaron Copland’s, Appalachian Spring.

More information: https://smithsonianassociates.org/ticketing/tickets/scms-muzyka-z-serca 

Vienna | Premiere performance of Piotr Tabakiernik's 'Novae Sonatae Rosarii' in Musikverein

polmicOn the 7th of December 7, 2022 at 7.30 p.m. in the Magna Auditorium of Vienna's Musikverein, the premiere of two of the four parts of Piotr Tabakiernik's (*1986) Novae Sonatae Rosarii (2020/22) will take place. The compositions will be premiered by: Jolanta Sosnowska (violin), Tomasz Piętak (organ), Jan Krigovsky (double bass and baroque violone), Hubert Hoffmann (theorban and lute); Gregorian antiphons will be performed by Wiener Schola Gregoriana.

Novae Sonatae Rosarii (Polish: New Rosary Sonatas) is a cyclical work composed with the violinist Jolanta Sosnowska in mind, consisting of twenty-one pieces-miniatures. The length of individual compositions varies from a few to several minutes. It is the only work, so far, in the history of violin literature that requires performance on nineteen different instruments, as well as the only 21-movement programatic work written for the violin in the last few hundred years.

Press release

Additional information: https://instytutpolski.pl/wien/2022/11/21/novae-sonatae-rosarii-von-piotr-tabakiernik-mit-jolanta-sosnowska/ 

Read more: Vienna | Premiere performance of Piotr Tabakiernik's 'Novae Sonatae Rosarii' in Musikverein

Premiere of Agata Zubel's work in Donaueschingen


On the 14th of October, 2022, during the Donaueschinger Musiktage - one of the most important festivals of contemporary music in the world - Agata Zubel's piece Out of Time for a hologram soloist and orchestra will be premiered.

In the piece inspired by Marcel Proust, the composer goes beyond the standard notion of a musical work. It will be presented by Agata Zubel's hologram together with SWR Symphonieorchester and SWR Experimentalstudio, which will be hosted by Pascal Rophé.

The concert will be broadcast live on SWR2 on the 14th of October at 20.05.

More: https://www.swr.de/swrclassic/donaueschinger-musiktage/veranstaltung-14-10-2022-20-uhr-3-konzert-100.html