Polmic - FB

from the world

”Chapter 13” by Agata Zubel performed in Los Angeles

Contemporary PolandOn January 19, 2016 the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles will host a concert Contemporary Poland, during which Chapter 13 by Agata Zubel will have its world premiere.

Agata Zubel's most recent work was commissioned by Los Angeles Philharmonic. Its text comes from Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s The Little Prince. The concert will also feature Paweł Mykietyn's 3 for 13 (first performance at the West Coast), Krzysztof Penderecki’s Sinfonietta No. 2 for clarinet and strings, Paweł Szymański’s quasi una sinfonietta and Krzysztof Meyer’s Musique scintillante.

Agata Zubel - soprano
Burt Hara - clarinet
LA Phil New Music Group
Łukasz Borowicz - conductor

More information: www.laphil.com

Elżbieta Sikora at MUSICACOUSTICA-BEIJING 2015

Elżbieta Sikora
Musicacoustica – Beijing

43 Baojia Street, Xicheng
District Beijing, China

October 26th-31st, 2015

Polish composer Elżbieta Sikora will be the guest of the Musicacoustica festival in Beijing. Her compositions will be performed during the event, and she will also give a lecture and join the jury of the festival competition. Participation in the Musicacoustica festival will not be Elżbieta Sikora's first visit to China. In 2014, she visited the country on the occasion of staging of her opera Madame Curie in Tianjin. As the result of an acquaintance made then with the representatives of the Musicacoustica festival, the artistic director of the event, Professor Zhang Xiaofu, was invited to participate in Musica Electronica Nova held in Wrocław in May 2015. Now, Elżbieta Sikora's compositions Rouge d'ete and Reflets irises will be performed during the 12th edition of the Musicacoustica festival. The composer will also deliver a lecture and join the jury of the festival's composers' competition.

Elżbieta Sikora is one of the leading figures in contemporary Polish electronic music, the author of, among others, the award-winning opera "Madame Curie", which was staged in China with great success in 2014. The composer has won many awards: the French Association of Dramatic Authors and Composers gave her an award for the opera Wyrywacz serc (Heart Extractor; 1984-86). In 1997 she was distinguished with the Commander's Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Poland. In 2004 the French Minister of Culture bestowed upon her the highest French distinction - Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

Source: www.asia.culture.pl

MUSICACOUSTICA-BEIJING is one of the most important music festivals in China. In the past 20 years, it has annually presented a series of electroacoustic/computer music concerts by prestigious musicians within different schools and styles from all over the world. Its activities also include lectures, master classes, academic writing presentations and awards, new installation art and new devices exhibitions, as well as the influential national electronic music composition competitions. The nation-wide competition and academic writing contest on electronic music, are held annually and every other year respectively, demonstrate the artistic and theoretical standard of the festival. It also encourages the young generation to actively participate the festival. As a window of international exchange, the festival has constantly introduced new concept of electronic music and the latest music technologies to China in order to bring life and energy into the festival.

More information / source: www.musicacoustica.cn/en2015

30 years of the Polish Music Center in Los Angeles

Celebrate "30 for 30" with the Polish Music CenterOn October 18th, the musical treasures of the late Renaissance and Baroque period in Poland will be showcased at this year’s Paderewski Lecture-Recital in celebration of the PMC’s 30th anniversary. Presented by Adam Knight Gilbert and the USC Thornton Baroque Sinfonia ensemble, this program will feature rarely-heard vocal and instrumental masterpieces by Wojciech Długoraj (1550-1619), Grzegorz Gerwazy Gorczycki (1665-1734), Jakub Polak (1545-1605), and Mikołaj Zieleński (1550-1615), among others.

The PMC is a research library and information center collecting manuscripts, scores, and recordings of Polish music, as well as books, articles and other information about Polish musical subjects.Since our founding in 1985, the PMC has produced world-class concerts and conferences, directed the Paderewski Festival in Paso Robles, published and supported innovative musicological research, maintained a highly informative website and monthly Newsletter, and introduced young musicians to Polish music and culture.

In honor of our their 30th anniversary, the PMC has launched the "30 for 30" Ignite USC campaign and invites their friends to make a gift and help the PMC to expand.

More information / source: www.usc.edu/dept/polish_music

Paderewski Festival 2015

Paderewski Festival 2015The next edition of the Paderewski Festival in Paso Robles (USA) will be held between 5th and 8th of November 2015.

The Festival’s line-up includes: Gala Concert featuring American pianist Thomas Pandolfi presenting significant Polish repertoire (works by Chopin, Szymanowski, Paderewski and Godowski), City of Angels Saxophone Quartet, Motion Trio Ensemble, Youth Piano Competition winners (2015) and students from this year's Youth Exchange Program to Poland. In addition, there will be a screening of Please find - Henryk Mikolaj Górecki (2012) and Paderewski Lecture Series: Paderewski's Influence on Paso Robles and History of the Festival.

The Paderewski Festival is a four-day music festival held annually in November celebrating Paso Robles' rich heritage and its most famous resident Ignacy Jan Paderewski - virtuoso pianist, composer, international politician, local landowner, grower and winemaker. Concerts featuring world renown talent, exhibits, lectures, master classes and film screenings are accompanied by wine tastings and tours of local vineyards.

More information: www.paderewskifest.com

Prawykonania polskich utworów w Chinach

Beijing Concert HallUroczysty koncert pekińskiej Forbidden City Chamber Orchestra, podczas którego odbędą się prawykonania utworów zamówionych u pięciu polskich kompozytorów: Tadeusza Wieleckiego, Jarosława Siwińskiego, Piotra Roemera, Pawła Hendricha i Lidii Zielińskiej, będzie miał miejsce 22 listopada 2015 roku w prestiżowej sali Beijing Concert Hall.

Forbidden City Chamber Orchestra (FCCO) to światowej sławy orkiestra kameralna, grająca utwory dawne i współczesne na tradycyjnych instrumentach chińskich. Wzbogacając swój repertuar o współczesne kompozycje twórców zachodnich, realizuje serię rezydencji kompozytorskich z różnych krajów świata. Projekt realizowany od trzech lat z Polską jest wynikiem współpracy FCCO, Culture.pl, festiwalu "Warszawska Jesień" oraz chińskiego Ministerstwa Kultury.

W ramach projektu FCCO zamówiło utwory u sześciu kompozytorów polskich. Pilotażowe zamówienie kompozytorskie zostało zrealizowane z Wojciechem Blecharzem. Jego utwór miał swoje prawykonanie podczas festiwalu "Warszawska Jesień" 2014 i zabrzmi po raz drugi podczas koncertu 22 listopada 2015 roku. Rezydencje 5 pozostałych polskich kompozytorów odbywają się etapami, podczas których kolejno wypracowywane i modyfikowane są kompozycje.