Polmic - FB

program "composing commissions" (B)


Marcin Błażewicz,

composer and music life organiser, b. 28 Feb. 1953 in Warsaw. In 1974-75 he studied philosophy at the Academy of Catholic Theology in Warsaw (now - the Cardinal Wyszyński University), later - in 1977-82 - composition with Marian Borkowski at the Music Academy in Warsaw, from which he graduated with honours. He also participated in international courses for composers conducted by François-Bernard Mâche (Pécs 1980), Iannis Xenakis (Salzburg and Delphi 1985) and Olivier Messiaen (1987). For many years he has been engaged in the promotion of musical culture. In 1983-87 he was organizer and artistic director of the International New Music Forum in Warsaw. In 1990-92 he was president of the Jeunesses Musicales de Pologne, and in 1990-94 - vice-president of Percussive Arts Society Poland. Simultaneously, in 1986-98 he was music director of the Polish Radio Theatre and an editor in the Polish Radio "BIS" Programme. Together with Stanisław Skoczyński and Mariusz Stowpiec he founded the Modus Group. At present he is senior lecturer at the Faculty of Composition, Conducting and Music Theory at the Music Academy in Warsaw. In 2000 he founded a periodical about music and related arts - "Muzyka21" - of which he was editor-in-chief until 2001.
He has received a number of awards for his compositions, incl. in 1981 - 3rd prize in the 1st National Competition for a work for an a cappella choir in Legnica for his Pensées for 3 choral groups (1977) and an honorable mention in the 2nd National Competition for Composers of chamber music in Białystok for Kammerkonzert for 14 soloists - chamber musicians (1981); in 1983 - 1st prize in the category of choral works in the Warsaw Competition for Composers organized by the Polish Composers' Union for Locomotive for 4-part unaccompanied children's choir, setting a poem by Julian Tuwim (1983); in 1985 - a special award in the International Competition for Composers "Music Today 1985" in Tokyo for Thanatos for solo flute (1984-85). Błażewicz has also been honored with the Stanisław Wyspiański Award for the entirety of his compositional work (1988) and - twice - with Prix Italia (1989, 1990).


Apeiron for solo cello (1977)
Vieillesse for baritone and chamber orchestra (1978-79)

A Journey to the Roots of Time, prelude for chamber orchestra after Alejo Carpentier

String Quartet * (1979-80)
Brass Quintet * (1981)
Kammerkonzert for 14 soloists - chamber musicians (1981)
Eruptio for orchestra (1983)

The World of the Senses for orchestra

Thanatos for solo flute (1984-85)
Arista – an Omen of Death for percussion with live electronics (1986)
Los Caprichos, concerto for guitar and orchestra (1986-88)
Et tua res agitur for percussion, 2 trumpets and string orchestra * (1987)
St Francis’ Cutlets, opera in 2 acts after Stephen Themerson (1991)
AS for harp and percussion (1992)
Smithereens of Light for solo voice, male-voice choir and chamber orchestra (1992-93)
Symphony for tenor and orchestra to a poem by Krzysztof Lipka (1994-2000)
Sansara for 15 instruments and live electronics (1995)
Ineffabilis for percussion (1997)
Piano Concerto (1997)
The Darkest Dark a mystery of liberation in 3 parts for choir, orchestra and live electronic (1997-99)
Konzertstück for brass instruments and percussion (1998)
Kundalini for 6 percussions and live electronic (1998-2000)
Credo for mixed a cappella choir (1999)
Marimbaphone Concerto (1999)
Concerto for flute and strings (1999)
Can you hear it for accordion and string quartet (2000-2001)
Concerto for brass instruments and orchestra (2002-2003)

literatura wybrana

Stowpiec Mariusz, Gronau Alicja, Kazem-Bek Jan The New Generation of Polish Composers [Nowe pokolenie kompozytorów polskich]. Almanach, „Pomorze”, Bydgoszcz 1988