Skip to main content

Bratislava | World premiere of "Iguaçu" Sextet of Jacek Rabiński

As part of the 48th J. K. Mertz Guitar Festival in Bratislava on the 24th of June, 2024 at 7:00 p.m. a world premiere of Jacek Rabiński's Sextet "Iguaçu" for flute, guitar and string quartet will take place. The performers will be: Polish guitarist Marek Nosal, Veronika Vitázková and the Mucha quartet.

The sextet "Iguaçu", which was created in 1998, consists of three parts: Allegro moderato, Lento, Presto. As the composer working in Berlin emphasizes,

"the piece is in what I call Absolute Tonality and is based on the sounds of Aeolian A minor. Duration: approx. 13'. I added the title "Iguaçu" later after playing the guitar part to a friend who associated my music with the famous Iguaçu Falls, located between Argentina and Brazil. I dedicated the piece to the flautist Shelly Kupferberg, with whom I made a lot of music at the time, playing both my own and foreign compositions, as well as improvising a lot. Shelly currently works as a freelance editor and presenter for Deutschland Kulturfunk and hosts daily live radio broadcasts. Apart from semi-amateur performances at home, the work has not been officially premiered so far."

Additional information: 


Rynek Starego Miasta 27
00-272 Warsaw, Poland
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

tel: +48 785 370 000

Project support

The website was modernised thanks to the support of the Minister of Education and Science under the Science for Society II program.

Logo Ministerstwa NiSW program Nauka dla społeczeństwa

Our social media

Join Our Newsletter

© All rights reserved. POLMIC
Go to top